jump to navigation

A clean slate October 16, 2009

Posted by jassnight in Change.
trackback

It snowed last night!  I am not kidding you. It is mid October and it snowed! I have been dreading the winter this year. It seems that every subsequent winter in my life gets a little more difficult. Since I have lost all that weight the cold just cuts right through me. My skin gets dry and I seem to develop a chronic runny nose directly correlated to the dip in temperature.

Morning Snow

So there it was. Staring me in the face. I had to step outside to really believe it. People associate winter with many things. The one I was thinking about this morning was, a clean slate.

I have been struggling with some pretty bad news I received a few days ago. Really, it was not bad news but rather, lack of good news. I was really counting on something and it didn’t happen.  It seems like I have been doing that a lot lately – getting my hopes up and then having the rug pulled out

from underneath me.  The snow this morning reminded me that things are never stagnant. Change is always constant and fresh starts will always present themselves – like the cleansing snow.  Yes, I may need to get a bit more creative. I will need to work harder. I will have to look at a wider range of options. The key is to never stop trying. The key is to never give up. Someday that key is going to open my door.

With that in mind, the snow didn’t bother me as much as I thought it would. I need to look at my disappointment this week like the snow I saw this morning. It is initially painful, cold, and disheartening. However, it served to clean the slate and I am ready to once again try to redraw that picture called me.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

