jump to navigation

The meaning of life November 3, 2009

Posted by jassnight in fitness, Life, Love, Relationship.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

just one thingRemember the movie City Slicker’s? That one moment when Billy Crystal asks Jack Palance the question, “what is the meaning of life?”  Jack holds up a finger and responds with this, “Just one thing…” When I saw that movie many years ago, I wanted to know. “What was that one thing Jack?  Tell Me!”

At that time I remember working hard toward that standard American dream. You know – the one that says that we all need a big house, two cars, lots of special gadgets and the best in services and comforts. With that mentality, I couldn’t understand why I would return to my standard funk even after buying the latest iPod, or renovating a room in the house. I just didn’t get it. Wasn’t this stuff supposed to make me happy?  “Jack, tell me what that one thing is!”

I will spare you the gory details about how I learned what the one thing is but let me tell you, it is true that money can NOT and will NOT buy you happiness. It is not about money. It is not about possessions. It is not about comforts and services. It is about LIFE itself.

I am currently working in a new career that I love and with people who are passionate about what they do – for 1/3 of what I use to make!  I am living in a back room with just a bed and a desk and feel comfortable, warm and secure. I don’t own the latest iPod or phone. I don’t get cable TV. I don’t buy the latest fashions. What is wrong with me? Nothing!  I have found that one thing.

That one thing is LIFE. This is heaven. This is the gift – here and now.

We have these bodies to touch, feel, and experience this world. We have these minds to understand, comprehend and remember. We have these hearts to connect, unite and love one another. This is it – this is the one thing.

I have made it a priority to take care of my body so that I can experience this world. I have seeked out more education and continue to do so in order to understand and comprehend. I have made wonderful relationships with others through my heart so that I can connect, unite and love with them.

I am happier than I have ever been in my life. Here is the extra bonus – The best things in life are FREE!  (Well, except maybe that last master’s degree 😉

This is my vision statement:

I feel great, happy, successful, prosperous, rich. I have terrific energy, since I cooperate with nature. Fresh air for the lungs, sound sleep for the nerves, wholesome food for the stomach, daily exercise for the muscles, great thoughts for the head, and close connections with people I love for the heart.

Comments»

1. Steve Gallow - November 3, 2009

You like to analyze things don’t you.

In my journey, I’m currently finding a lot more joy in living in the mystery, and just observing the beauty of things around me. I’m asking fewer questions, because I don’t necessarily find the big answers. It’s pretty cool.

2. Nicki - November 4, 2009

You are so right. Many years ago, I was a bit down on my luck but by no means, down and out. The ladies’ group from church wanted to adopt me and my family for Christmas. I thought, long and hard, before turning down the offer. My family didn’t need more “things.” My kids did not need to think that the holidays were all about items and materials wants.

Life is about so much more than all the “things” people seem to want to keep up with everyone around them.

3. BigLittleWolf - November 5, 2009

Nice. And agreed. Not stuff. Connections, contributions, creativity. That’s the good stuff.


Leave a Reply

