jump to navigation

We regret to inform you… November 10, 2009

Posted by jassnight in Change, Job Search, Relationship.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

26256311-main_Full“We were very fortunate to have a strong applicant pool for this job, and recently made an offer to a highly qualified candidate who has accepted.   Therefore, the search is now closed.”

How many times have us job searchers read this? I received this in an e-mail last week. It is ok. It matched the other 300+ rejections I have received over the past 2 years. After a while, you tend to get use to it.

At this point I am doing fine. I have a great job that aligns perfectly with what I want to do. I am working with a wonderful group of professionals in a people-based field that is functional and effective. What else would I want?  Well, it is only part-time. Unfortunately, I am not making enough money to achieve my other life goals. So I continue to search in hopes of finding a similar situation that is full-time.

My phone rings last week and another opportunity appears. I have an interview for the job of my dreams. Not only is it exactly what I have been trained for but also has the potential to satisfy my goal of working in a mission I believe in, with people also dedicated to that mission. It will also give me the income to complete the journey that I began for myself over five years ago. I can’t imagine realizing this dream after these many years of hard work, pain, hope, and rejection.

Could this be the one?

Here is the caveat.  I will have to relocate. I will have to leave my beloved city of Ithaca, NY, my friends, my colleagues and my family.  Am I ready to do that?  I am not sure.  I thrive on connection. I can’t live without relationship. I came to that conclusion a long time ago. I am not autonomous. I need contact.  Where I would be going, I know not a soul.

Is that a problem?  Probably not. It may be time to move on. Things have not gone to0 well for me here personally. This may be a time in my life when I need to isolate myself and dig deep within. If I get this position I will be heavily engrossed in a wonderful career that will definitely keep me from “thinking too much.” I could use a little forgetting right now. I have run away before, but this would be a controlled escape. There will be purpose in it and it will be strategic.

Yes, I regret to inform you, I am moving on.

Comments»

1. BigLittleWolf - November 13, 2009

You’ve actually gotten rejection letters? Consider yourself fortunate. I’ve probably applied to over 300 jobs in recent years, with – at most – an automated response of receipt of application.

If you are not inextricably bound to where you are – consider yourself lucky in this economy to have an option to move on – as well as the energy to do so.

Running away? Reconsider the words. It may be running to. Only you can know, of course.

2. jassnight - November 13, 2009

I guess I am more fortunate than most. I have had several interviews in the past few years and occasionally end up as #2 just behind the internal candidate that they offer the job to 😦 I am hoping that Monday’s interview will be different. It will definitely change things for me and right now, I need that.

So maybe I am… ‘running to’ … I like that. Thanks!

P.S. – I am really enjoying your blog by the way. Someday I will tell you about the divorced women group that took me under their wing as their “token male” of the group. I am not sure if they just needed a focus for their male-bashing or if they just liked to watch me fetch the wine from the refrigerator during our hot tub sessions 😉

BigLittleWolf - November 13, 2009

Male bashing. Highly overrated. So much more fun to enjoy men, and dislike the one who “done you wrong.” Is there a country song in that? (No doubt a few dozen.)

And you fetch wine??? I note you said they liked to “watch you fetch the wine.” (Smiling…)

Hmmm. You just gave me an idea for a few words tomorrow.

3. jassnight - November 13, 2009

You ‘noted’ correctly – it was the least I could do for them 😉 They were great friends at a time when I desperately needed to surround myself with people. Stories were told, wine was shared, and fetching was for fun!

It is the connections that you make that are important in life. They were the first to make me believe that.

4. BigLittleWolf - November 14, 2009

Yes, indeed. Connections. And this brief dialog, and thinking about the relocation issue that you raised, inspired some notes last night, and this morning’s musing. So thank you for that. (And you’ll be sure to update us on progress, when you hear back, right?)

Now… I have some things that need fetching…

jassnight - November 14, 2009

Make sure you grab a towel before doing the fetching, that of which I was never offered by my hot tub companions 😉

5. BigLittleWolf - November 14, 2009

I was fetching wood in the backyard (for a fire pit), sweeping pine needles off the little deck, and stringing lights. I could’ve used assistance. I need a step stool for what most adults can reach without one. OH. Guess I should’ve worn my stilettos… Hmmm.

Hate to tell you. No hot tub life. Mother-of-teen life. (And Parisian dreams. They don’t do hot tubs much, but they sure as hell do everything else.)

6. Deena Kay - November 14, 2009

I’ve been looking for work too and I can certainly appreciate the frustration, aggravation and discouragement. I have read a few of your blogs and I think you’re right on the money. 🙂


Leave a Reply

