jump to navigation

Mountains and Molehills November 14, 2009

Posted by jassnight in Friendship, Life, Relationship.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Mountains and MolehillsI recently had a light discussion about need with my good friend Nicki. The discussion centered around how difficult it is for a friend to admit that they need a friend in their life. I am one to tell it like it is. You have heard me say it before in this forum. I need friends. I need connections and I am not shy about telling somebody that I need and want them in my life. However, last night, I discovered a whole new dimension to need. It is one thing to need people in your life; it is another to be needed.

By circumstance or by divine fate, a friend of mine reached out to me last night. She was in crisis mode and needed me. I new the signs very well because I have been there myself. It was just a struggle for her to cope in the moment. Breath to breath felt like an eternity. She reached out and I was there. Sometimes a friend just needs someone to listen and that is enough. I felt needed. During that time of connection with her in this struggle, I lost myself and my mountains became insignificant little molehills compared to the pain that she was in. I became immersed in the pain with her. I was one with her. By the end of the evening she found ground and re-emergence of time and place. For the time being, her struggle was manageable. I felt honored that I was a part of bringing her back to this world and in this, my own struggle had taken a hiatus.

I have not felt this way in a long time.  Lately I have been wrapped up in my own need for connection but have not had much opportunity to be and feel needed. The two don’t come close to having the same emotional effect. Feeling needed by someone will trump the need for someone every time.  It instantly makes your mountains turn into trivial little molehills.

“A friend is someone who knows the song in your heart, and can sing it back to you when you have forgotten the words.”

Comments»

1. sandysays1 - November 14, 2009

Well said! I hope many folks will read your post for it’s a good one. Sharing a persons pain does often strengthen both the helped and the helper. Sandy

2. Deena Kay - November 14, 2009

Hello! Great blog. I have my own as well and I would suspect you are one in the 5 – 10% range. You’re a rare individual and you should be proud of that! 🙂 You truly must be a good friend. Friends first!

3. jassnight - November 14, 2009

Sandy and Deena, thanks to both of you for the encouraging comments. You both warm my heart. Update on my friend – she is doing well today and even put in a run. It is a good sign. We all have those moments when we cry out. It is self-healing to be the shoulder to cry on. We are all here together for a reason. This world if finite, let’s share it with one another while we can.

Best to you


Leave a Reply

